Blog

Last Week’s Highlights

A couple weeks ago, Mark received the disappointing news that his employer is now requiring all employees to work from the office. It’s a hard adjustment after two years of working from home, let me tell you. After our second week into it, we’re starting to adjust to our new routine but I miss the days when he was here. It reminds me how important it is to enjoy time with my family. I cherish our evenings together now more than ever.

Perhaps the biggest adjustment is to Mark’s workout schedule. He leaves the house before 6:30 AM and I understand how a long, stressful day can drain his energy so he doesn’t have as much push to get through a workout at 5:00 PM. So, like many of you do when life brings you change, we reevaluated our routine and adjusted our game plan so that Mark can maintain his fitness level. One way he’s planning to do that is by training through the winter for the Rochester Flower City half marathon in April. A friend of ours is also going to train for it, and that is the key for keeping Mark moving when he doesn’t want to. I’ll let you all know how it works out.

All this talk of half marathons got me itching to do another one. I think a reasonable goal for me is to do a 5K in the spring and a half marathon in the fall. Since this baby is due in late January, I feel like it will be a truly good goal. I’m still thinking through the specifics and I’ll share my training plan with you once I figure it all out.

But enough about that. Here’s what last week in the Hilton home looked like.

Workouts

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

Sun

Yoga and kettlebells

2 mile walk outside

Yoga and kettlebells

Rest

3 mile walk on treadmill

Yoga and kettlebells

Rest

On Monday, I had a really hard time getting going. I kept finding other things that needed to get done around the house, which really means I was putting off my workout. I finally made myself do it since I knew my only chance to get it done that day was while the girls napped. After I finish a workout, I always feel so good and wonder why I thought about skipping it.

On Thursday, I felt pretty miserable with a headache, congestion, and general fatigue. I debated on pushing through a workout or giving my body the rest I knew it probably needed. I opted for rest and I’m glad I did! I woke up feeling lousy on Friday but gradually regained my energy throughout the day. When I put the girls down for their nap, I walked three miles on the treadmill. And Saturday I was back at it again. I’m glad I listened to my body this time around. Who knows how many days I would have missed if I pushed through and really got sick.

Meals

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

Sun

Southwestern chicken chili

Roasted chicken

Chicken soup

Leftovers

Homemade pizza

Burgers

Ham and soup

Spiced pumpkin biscuits
Photo: Becky Lugart-Staynar

I tried a new recipe on Tuesday to go with the roasted chicken and vegetables and I am a BIG fan – Spiced Pumpkin Biscuits. I used white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and made eight large biscuits instead of 14 biscuits. I also skipped all the folding and just kneaded the dough until it held together – maybe five times – and shaped the biscuits by hand. In my experience, the less you handle biscuit dough, the better the biscuits come out.

I’m serious. You have to try these.

On Saturday mornings we usually make a big breakfast. This week, I decided to make French toast with the whole wheat sourdough bread I made to go with our chicken soup earlier in the week. The finished product still had a distinct sourdough flavor to it but we were very happy with the way it turned out. Plus, there was all that whole grain goodness.

We had friends over on Saturday and introduced them to sous vide cooking, which is our favorite method for cooking burgers. Blow torching the cooked meat to give it that nice char is the best way to finish it, in my opinion. We had baked sweet potato fries, roasted brussel sprouts, and a side salad with our burgers. As a treat, we had fried cakes for dessert. During the fall, we buy a fried cake from Schutt’s Apple Mill for each of us every week, though really Eve and Vera share one. Usually, Mark will make a run to get some on Sunday morning before church but we decided that sharing with friends was a better occasion this week. I think they were big fans. 🙂

wp-1477914274043.jpgSunday evening I baked a ham and made some parsnip apple soup. We also had Cajun seasoned peas and corn, which were Eve and Vera’s favorite part of the meal. Mark and I both thought the soup was delicious. The dominant flavor is definitely parsnips, but the combination of all the ingredients is very yummy. This is the recipe I followed. It’s another one I highly recommend!

Follow me on Pinterest to see all these recipes and more!

On we go…

I don’t think we have anything too crazy planned for this week. I’m now in my third trimester of this pregnancy so the countdown to the birth of our little girl has begun, in my mind at least. I’m hoping I can stay as active as I have been until then. A strong, healthy body to see me through this pregnancy, the delivery, and the recovery is my goal. After all, I’ve got a half marathon to train for. 🙂

Good luck to all of you in the week to come. If you have any fall recipes to share or recommend, please leave a comment here or on the Facebook page. It’s fun to try new things!

Leave a Reply

