Blog · Fitness · Nutrition

Last Week’s Highlights

This week our house continued to be plagued by the adenovirus. Eve suffered slightly and Vera suffered greatly. I’ll save you the details, but suffice it to say that it was not a very fun week and we stayed quarantined for most of it. I’m looking forward to getting back into our normal routine and feeling like we can be around people again.

img_20161118_143233.jpg
Vera FINALLY feeling well enough to play

Thankfully, the girls did feel a bit better on Friday so we had the chance to enjoy one last gorgeous day. Those 70°, sunny days can’t be beat. I could take 365 days of them a year.

Our house is officially converted over to natural gas. The original furnace ran off of fuel oil. We’re looking forward to seeing the savings come through this winter, though we will still primarily heat our home with our wood stove, which is officially fired up and keeping us nice and toasty.

img_20161118_154517386.jpg
If only you could hear Eve’s giggles

I signed Mark and myself up for the Canandaigua Turkey Trot, which is an untimed 5K. We’re running it with some friends. I’m looking forward to kicking of Thanksgiving Day with a run. Usually I run in a Turkey Trot that is closer to our home. That particular race is really large. It should be fun to do this little race, though we have to drive farther to get to it.

(Isn’t it weird how we’ll drive 45 minutes to run for 30 minutes and then drive 45 minutes back home?)

I made sure they allowed strollers on the course before signing up so we can take the girls too. Though now it’s looking like the morning will be quite cold so we’ll probably end up asking their grandparents to stay with them while we run.

I am really looking forward to Thanksgiving! In case you missed it, check out my post on having a guilt-free holiday.

Now let’s talk about how day-to-day life happens. This is how we made our week work.

Workouts

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

Sun

Yoga and kettlebells

3 mile jog outside

Yoga and kettlebells

3 mile jog outside

Yoga and kettlebells

Rest

3 mile walk outside

With all the events going on this week, it was harder to get in the workouts, especially for Mark. But we did OK.

img_20161118_154455590.jpg
Eve’s telling Vera that she gets one more turn

I managed to get all my workouts in on the days I planned. On the day the gas line was being hooked up I took my kettlebells to the bedroom to have at it. It would have been a little awkward for me to workout in front of all the men. And it probably would have been a little awkward for them to see a pregnant woman go to town on kettlebells.

By Sunday I was feeling cooped up and I REALLY needed to go somewhere or get moving. Thankfully, when there’s a treadmill in your basement, it’s easy to get moving no matter the weather or the circumstances at home keeping you in. While the girls napped, I went for a nice, therapeutic walk on the treadmill. It helped me to a mental 180.

Mark missed a few runs but the ones he got in were good. He’s still feeling good and believes he’ll be able to meet his goals come the half marathon. He’s hoping to average 8-minute miles. He hasn’t started lifting again yet. Hopefully next week.

Meals

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

Sun

Steak

Chicken sausage and veggie spaghetti

Hamsteak

Leftovers

Homemade pizza

Mongolian beef

Turkey and pho soup

On Monday, I made the best steak. No joke. I cooked it sous vide, as you might expect, and perfectly seared it on my grill pan. Normally I love steak, but this whole pregnancy it’s been one of those “meh” foods for me. This one I thoroughly enjoyed. I roasted some potatoes and carrots to go with it. We were a happy family that night, minus the girls, who couldn’t have cared less. 🙂

img_20161118_155219228.jpg
Vera. This little face is my sunshine.

To make Tuesday evening easy, I threw some chicken sausage in the crockpot with spaghetti sauce in the morning. Then I sautéed some veggie spaghetti right before dinner. That was it. Super simple, healthy, and tasty. I like using chicken or turkey sausage in things like sauce. I save the pork sausage for the grill, because, let’s face it, it has amazing flavor all on its own. And at least some of the grease drips out of it (and not into my sauce).

On Wednesday, I cooked up some hamsteak and baked sweet potato fries with some cooked apples on the side. If you want a nice treat, peel and slice an apple, sprinkle some cinnamon and nutmeg on it, and cook it on the stove until it starts to soften. It’s like eating the inside of an apple pie but without any added sugar or fat. There’s just something about the combination of apples and any kind of pig meat that can’t be beat.

img_20161118_155232220.jpg
Eve, my happy little trooper. I’m so blessed to be her mommy!

Thursday was our typical leftover night and Friday I made homemade pizza (see nutrition facts here). On Saturday I made Mongolian Beef, a P.F. Changs copycat. It came out quite good. Mark and I really liked it. Eve and Vera didn’t seem to care for it much, but their appetites were still a little off. To round the meal off, I made some rice and steamed broccoli.

And Sunday featured pho soup. This was a first for me but it was really easy and delicious. I used the recipe in my Modernist Cuisine cookbook and the hands on time was only about 15 minutes. Since soup isn’t really enough to constitute a filling dinner, I also roasted a turkey breast. We’ll use the leftovers for lunchmeat over the next couple days.

By Sunday, both girls were pretty much normal. Vera, whose appetite was down the longest, asked for a “samich” at breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Because I was home-bound so much, I spent a little extra time in the kitchen this week. I made peanut butter protein balls and crunchy peanut butter granola. I’m a big fan of them both! I also attempted another batch of homemade yogurt but it didn’t turn out. I’ve made it several times before so I’m not sure where I went wrong. Oh well. I’ll try it again this week. I really want to have some with the granola.

Here is what the macro breakdown of my food intake for the week looked like. It’s the same trend as last week. With this insight, I know to add some more lean protein to my day.

img_20161121_051328.jpg

On we go…

This week’s highlights will be an appointment to check-up on the baby and Thanksgiving. Can’t beat a Turkey Trot and my favorite holiday all on the same day! I plan to prep the apple pie and sweet potato casserole, which I’m bringing to the family feast, ahead of time so it’s not so crazy going from the race to dinner.

What do you have planned for the week? Leave a comment here or on the Facebook page to let us know how it goes.

Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

