Blog · Fitness · Nutrition

Food and fitness highlights (Nov 21-27)

I don’t even know where to begin about last week. It was filled with many good things. Hearing my baby’s heartbeat. A turkey trot. Our Christmas tree. Family. Good food.

img_20161128_065105.jpg
Turkey Day 5K

As it would be, the weather was not ideal for the turkey trot but it wasn’t terrible either. It lightly rained the whole time, which is pretty chilling when it’s only in the 30’s. When we were moving we were fine. I very much enjoyed running with our friends and getting outside. Another one of those things that makes me feel like me. I pretty much drained our hot water tank when we got home though. 🙂

img_20161128_065146.jpg
Fun, small race. Cold, wet morning.

Mark and I battled it out with our Christmas tree on Friday. I do not enjoy spending hours decorating. I prefer to keep things simple. That’s why our pre-let Christmas tree has been so loved over the past five years or so. We don’t even take the branches on and off each year, we just wrap a rope around it and haul it down to our basement where it sits, all assembled, until the next year.

This year Mark carried it up the stairs and plugged it in only to discover that large chunks of the lights no longer worked. Going through the strands light by light to find the bulbs at fault was not going to work – that would have taken way too much time – so we decided to take all the lights off and wrap new strings of lights around the tree.

If you’ve ever taken the lights off of a pre-lit tree you know that it is not an easy task. Not. Fun. At. All. They are not manufactured with the lights simply wrapped around the branches in a spiral fashion. They are twisted around branches, go up and down the various levels of branches, and cross over each other at what seems like every opportunity. It took us two hours to get the lights off, at which point our hands and arms were all scratched and rashy looking. It did not make our afternoon very enjoyable but thankfully we finished the task and got the new set of lights on the tree all while Eve and Vera were napping.

We had both sets of parents over for breakfast on Saturday. We made them apple cinnamon pancakes, eggs, and bacon. It was a really great way to end the week and I’m thankful for the time we had.

As for our health and lifestyle, here’s how it happened…

Workouts

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

Sun

Yoga and kettlebells

3 mile jog outside

Yoga and kettlebells

Turkey Trot 5K

Yoga and kettlebells

2.5 mile walk on treadmill

Rest

screenshot_2016-11-28-07-13-50.png
10K steps every day

I made it a point to get at least 10,000 steps in every day this week. I know, I’ve already said that it’s not really about hitting that number, but with the temperatures plummeting and being forced to spend more and more time inside, it helps relieve some of my restlessness. Moving my body is therapy for my soul and keeps my mind clear.

To hit 10,000 there were days that I’d march around the house or just walk in place. My kids thought it was pretty great. They’d march with me through the living room, through the kitchen, and around the dining room table. Keeping their little bodies in motion is a bonus and I really want them to learn to love to be active, not sedentary.

Mark lifted weights for the first time in almost a month last week. He was pleasantly surprised at how little ground he lost though he was sore for a few days afterward. The half marathon training took a backseat to life so this week he’s hitting it with more focus and determination.

Meals

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

Sun

Roasted chicken

Chicken veggie soup

Apple-cinnamon pork loin

Thanksgiving

Lemon-garlic chicken

Thai-style stir-fried noodles and chicken

Pot roast

I kicked off the week with my family’s favorite meals – roasted chicken and chicken veggie soup. Someday I’ll post exactly what I do to prepare these meals because my family tells me they’re among my best. Eve and Vera eat it enthusiastically. The leftovers only lasted one day and Eve asked for soup for breakfast every day after.

The apple-cinnamon pork has also become one of my favorites, if I’m allowed to say that after only having it twice. It’s another easy meal and it tastes really good.

For Thanksgiving, I made an apple pie and a sweet potato casserole. Mark and I also spiced some cider. I took no shortcuts and made no attempt to “healthify” the apple pie. I used every tablespoon of butter and sugar the recipe called for. I did not fool myself into thinking it was something healthy and ate it knowing exactly what was being put into my body. It was delicious. And it’s a good thing I don’t do that very often.

The sweet potato casserole was also quite yummy. I followed a recipe from the Cooking Light magazine and it used only two tablespoons of butter and three tablespoons of maple syrup. It was not complicated to make and made a great addition to the meal we shared with our family. And it tasted even better the next day.

I ate all my favorite Thanksgiving foods without over eating and with no guilt. It was a great holiday!

I wanted to have some more leftovers to fall back on for the weekend so I made lemon garlic chicken on Friday. On Saturday, I made the meal Mark picked out for the week, which was a Thai stir fry that used chicken, broccoli, and rice noodles. Making it took longer than I expected and I got frustrated a couple of times because I kept burning the pan, but the end result was quite good. Mark was happy so that’s all that really matters.

On Sunday, we went to Mark’s parents’ house right after our morning church service and shared a pot roast. Later that afternoon we went to our neighbors where we had some apple spice cake. Because never really ate dinner, we resorted to chicken nuggets and tater tots. It’s not something I would typically consider but it worked for us that night. It was late, I was tired, and it was easy. So much for those leftovers I made sure to have, right? They’re still sitting in the fridge.

Here’s what my macro breakdown was for the week. I still need to work on adding more lean protein to my diet.

Macro-nutrient breakdown for Nov 21- 27

On we go…

This week I’m looking forward to catching up on some sleep and finding moments to relax and appreciate my family.

What do you have planned for the week? Leave a comment here or on the Facebook page to let us know how it goes.

Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

