Blog · Fitness · Nutrition

Food and fitness highlights (Dec 5 – Dec 11)

Vera shopping in the little Wegmans
Vera shopping in the little Wegmans

It’s official. I’ve made it further in this pregnancy than the last one. I’m retaining no water, I am able to exercise daily, and there are no signs that this baby is going to make an early appearance. I am one happy momma!

Me and Eve on the carousel before it started moving
Me and Eve on the carousel before it started moving

Mark took a couple days off of work this week so the girls and I were spoiled by getting extra time with him. On Friday, we went to the Strong Museum of Play and spent about 3.5 hours walking around there. At two years old, Eve and Vera seemed more interested in the many exhibits this time than they did the last time we took them. They had a blast!

Vera and the Berenstain BearsWhen we walked in, Eve spotted the carousel immediately and wanted to see the horses. We had a slip for a couple free rides so we promised we’d take her on it before leaving. After lunch, we walked by the horses again and she tried making a dash for them. Again, I told her we’d ride them before we went home. When it came time to leave, we took the girls to the carousel and boarded it for the much anticipated ride. As soon as it started moving, Eve clung to me and wanted to get off. She didn’t like it all. Oh, my little Eve. Vera, on the other hand, had a big smile the whole time!

Later that evening we sat on the floor and colored with the girls. These are the moments I cherish the most.

I took the girls to a brunch at church on Saturday morning and all of us went to a potluck on Sunday afternoon. It was a really good time with my family and church family. My parents move in just a couple of weeks so we’re trying to make the most of every opportunity we have to spend time with them.

As for keeping it healthy… well, I tried.

Workouts

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

Sun

Yoga and kettlebells

3 mile walk on treadmill

Yoga and kettlebells

3 mile walk on treadmill

Rest

Yoga and kettlebells, 2 mile walk on treadmill

Rest

img_20161211_194334.jpgI was surprised at how little energy I had after walking around the museum on Friday. Instead of working out when I got home, as I originally planned, I decided to take a day of rest. I had food to make and laundry to do before the girls got up from their nap and I wouldn’t have had time to do it all, so it’s just as well. I did make sure that I took at least 10,000 steps that day though. I figured that though I wasn’t doing any heavy activity, I better at least make sure I move my body enough.

Mark got in all of his runs this week. Yay! He did not do any lifting, though he did help my dad move another load of heavy stuff to my parent’s new house on Wednesday night. Because they were predicting a couple feet of snow over Thursday and Friday, the two of them left Wednesday evening and got home around 12:30 a.m. Considering it’s a two-hour drive each way, they made a quick and efficient trip of it. And the snow was successfully avoided.

Meals

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

Sun

One pan chicken and veggies

Creamy quinoa and chicken casserole

Chicken and gravy

Outback Steakhouse

Leftovers

Pork Carnitas

Pot Luck

Eve checking out the computers
Eve checking out the computers

I kept it pretty easy again this week. On Monday and Tuesday I resorted to a couple of easy one-dish meals featuring chicken: One-pan roasted chicken and veggies and creamy quinoa and chicken casserole. I was the only one who really enjoyed the casserole so that meal probably won’t find itself in rotation very often.

Vera at the church brunch
Vera at the church brunch

On Wednesday we ate dinner with my parents and Mark helped my dad load some heavy items into the truck. The meal consisted of chicken cooked in gravy in the Crockpot, rice, stuffing, corn, and sweet potatoes. To keep it balanced, I skipped the rice and focused on the chicken and veggies. Eve and Vera gobbled it all right down.

On Thursday we treated Mark’s parents to Outback Steakhouse in celebration of his dad’s birthday. A blooming onion was ordered (1954 calories, 155 grams of fat, 122 grams of carbs, 18 grams of protein), but I can never bring myself to eat any of it. I had steak, salad, and a plain, baked sweet potato. When we got back to our house, we each had a scoop of ice cream.

Our fridge was overloaded with leftovers so we made a meal of them on Friday evening. On Saturday I made pork carnitas (cooked and pulled apart pork shoulder) in my new Instant Pot for dinner. I served the meat with shredded lettuce, onions, peppers, and avocados along with whole wheat tortillas. I took the Morning Glory Baked Oatmeal to the brunch at church. On Sunday, my contribution to the potluck was the sweet potato casserole from Cooking Light. I love that stuff.

Follow Fitness Grapevine on Pinterest to see all these recipes and more!

I did a little better making sure I got enough high quality, lean protein this week. I’m pleased with how my macronutrients broke down:

img_20161211_200103.jpg

You may look at this and think, “Wow! She eats a lot of fat.” Most of this comes from the eggs I eat in the morning, nuts, and the olive oil I drizzle over our evening popcorn (not fried, processed, or otherwise indulgent foods). There are other sources of fat in my diet, like dairy and beef and pork, but the fat that comes from that makes up a small percentage of what I actually consume. Don’t be afraid to eat healthy fats!

(This is how I always eat, and I’ve only gained 15 lbs with this pregnancy so far. At 33 weeks, that’s not excessive at all. My blood pressure is consistently low, and like I said earlier, I’m retaining no water. Despite making healthy choices last pregnancy, I still ended up with two very preemie babies and HELLP syndrome – carrying twins is tough on the body – so I’m thrilled by how healthy my body has stayed this time. This week at my appointment, my doctor was also very pleased and said to keep doing what I’m doing because IT’S WORKING. She actually laughed at how low my blood pressure was (98/58). Making consistently healthy choices really pays off!)

On we go…

There’s not a whole lot planned for the week to come so I’ll probably focus on making sure I have everything prepared and ready for Christmas. On Saturday, we’re celebrating Christmas with my grandma and I’m really looking forward to that.

What do you have planned for the week? Leave a comment here or on the Facebook page to let us know how it goes.

Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

