Blog · Fitness · Nutrition

January’s Food and Fitness Highlights

I spent most of January anxiously waiting for our little baby to be born. I was fully prepared for her to arrive before her due date, but that was not the case. This little one decided she wanted to wait until she was full term. Though it made the wait seem longer and tougher, I am thankful. It is an answer to many prayers.

So instead of being surprised by an early birth like I was with the twins, I had the time to get everything ready for this baby. More than ready, really. I’ve been able to plan and do a lot of things ahead of time so I’m not tempted to push myself too much in those first weeks.

I’ve thought through the various levels of activity I’ll do right after delivery. Like I said last month, idleness is just not in my DNA. I’ll stick with yoga and walking for the first couple weeks and then start ramping things up. The biggest challenge will be finding time to exercise between managing and caring for all three kids. Rest assured, it will get done. Saying “No” is not something I consider an option.

And I really can’t wait to share my progress with you all!

Workouts

Here is what my average week in workouts looked like in January:

  • Monday: 3 mile walk at about a 13-minute mile pace.
  • Tuesday: 10 minutes of yoga followed by 15 minutes of kettlebells, followed by 5 minutes of yoga.
  • Wednesday: 3 mile walk
  • Thursday: Yoga and kettlebells
  • Friday: 3 mile walk
  • Saturday or Sunday: 3 mile walk

I stuck to the same yoga and kettlebell workout as December: squats, single-leg deadlifts, bent-over rows, and lunges with a hammer curl. The yoga routine includes push-ups, side plank, push-ups (as low as the belly will allow), and goddess squats amidst the rest of the flow. My cooldown consists of a yogi squat into crow pose and then various stretching poses.

The 10-minute yoga routine I start my day with was a big lifesaver this month. As my body got more tired and achy, this made me feel a lot better. I’d consistently wake up between 2:00 and 5:00 in the morning and wouldn’t be able to get back to sleep. Sometimes I’d be restless, sometimes I’d just lay awake for no apparent reason, and sometimes my legs or back would ache a little. Nothing to warrant keeping me awake but if I couldn’t drift right back to sleep, I’d soon get restless or start thinking about other things. So I’d get up. This little yoga routine always helped me feel good first thing in the morning, however early it was.

Mark has maintained his weightloss – hooray! And that is despite missing quite a few runs and not lifting. I’m really hoping he gets back into lifting soon but I’m glad he’s not putting any weight back on. In a few weeks he officially starts his half marathon training so it’s time to get serious. I know he’s going to do great!

Meals

I tried out a few new pressure cooker recipes this month. My favorite was mango pineapple chicken, though I think I was the only one in the family who felt that way. I also really enjoyed the crispy chicken carnitas. I did not make the chipotle sauce that goes with it and I loaded the veggies on my plate so it was a bit healthier than what the recipe shows. We ate a couple roasted chickens and my chicken vegetable soup. I stocked my freezer with different types of meals and ready-to-cook marinated chicken breasts to make things easier for a few weeks post-baby.

I made more yogurt using my Instant Pot. This time, I used my immersion blender to make it super creamy and smooth. It looks as amazing as it tastes. When Eve and Vera first saw this batch they called it ice cream. I don’t think I’ll ever make yogurt using another method.

I added PBFit protein powder to my morning oatmeal. It is so yummy! Eve and Vera love it too, though they only seem to eat it when it comes out of my bowl. If I make them their own it just sits on their plates. They do however eat an egg most mornings, which makes me happy. They’ve also discovered a new love for bell peppers so I’ve made it a point to keep some on hand.

Here is a rough breakdown of how I balanced my macronutrients in January. It looks a lot like December.

jan-2017-macros
My macronutrient breakdown for January 2017

For some healthy ideas for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks follow Fitness Grapevine on Pinterest.

On we go

I gained 18lbs this pregnancy. Not too shabby. I’m confident that I’ll be able to bounce back quickly and I’m looking forward to getting into my new fitness routine. My plan for 2017 is to get back to the basics and keep it simple. I’ve shared several of the exercises that will be included in that routine with you already (squats, push-ups, deadlifts). Stay tuned for more about the lunge, pull-up, and farmer’s carry.

What do you have planned for February? Leave a comment here or on the Facebook page to let us know how it goes.

Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

